Monday, February 23, 2015

Exploring Love - A Valentine's Day Yin Yoga Class


I taught a special Yin Yoga class on Valentine's Day focusing on the Heart Chakra.  I teach Yin Yoga Saturdays at 5pm at The Yogi Tree Center for Growth.

In Traditional Chinese Medicine, Tan-zhong/17 RM is the center of emotion. It is located at the sternum and is related to the heart, circulatory system, lungs and thymus. The thymus is the gland that controls the immune system and is associated with longevity.

Yoga poses that target the Heart Chakra/17 RM open the chest/sternum and draw energy into the heart. The Heart Chakra is located between the three lower chakras and the three upper chakras. The three lower chakras express the physical body and sensations, while the three upper chakras represent intuition and interconnection between mind and spirit.

The Heart Chakra is the point of balance between the mind, body, and spirit and thus symbolically between Heaven and Earth.

The heart meridian starts in the heart and consists of three branches. One goes to the small intestines.
Another runs upward past the tongue toward the eyes. The third branch crosses the chest to travel down the arm, ending at the inside top of the little finger, where it connects with the small intestine meridian

The heart governs the blood and the pulse, as well as, the mind and the spirit.

It is said that the enlightened can hear the sound of the universe within the Anahata chakra
Symbol is two super imposed triangles with in one circle make a six pointed star
Sound is Yam. Color Green. Element Air. Carrier is the Antelope. Planet is Venus.

In Qigong, the middle Dantian (one of the three furnaces which transform energy in the body) is in this region. The middle Dantian transforms qi energy into shen (spiritual energy).

 In Anahata one makes decisions ("follows one's heart") based on one's higher self, not the unfulfilled emotions and desires of lower nature. As such, it is known as the heart chakra.[4] It is also associated with love and compassion, charity to others and psychic healing. Meditation on this chakra is said to bring about the following siddhis: he becomes a lord of speech; he is dear to women; his presence controls the senses of others, and he can leave and enter the body at will.

Who am I.  I am not an expert on love. I have been married 15 years.  I had many relationships in my twenties.  I had my heart broken a billion times and maybe broke someone else heart once.  I have made this series to elaborate on my philosophy of love.

(0) CHILD POSE'S (baby yourself, take care of yourself)

(1) MELTING HEART (about being open to love)

(2) SPHINX (keeping your strength)

(2a) SEAL (being comfortable in your own skin and being beautiful when you get put in the right environment)

(3) RECLINED THUNDERBOLT (the chemistry that can be felt.  It is electric.

(4) CAMEL  (being prepared and ready for love)

(5) SUPINE BUTTERFLY (the butterfly lover, the one who is so charming but you can't trust)

(6) CROSS LEGGED FROG WITH COW FACE ARMS (kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince– sometimes you don’t recognize a prince because he looks like a frog - sometimes you have a great prospect you are not attracted to them because they look like a frog)


(8) CATERPILLAR (potential of new relationship, taking it slow, being prepared)

(9)BANANA (sometimes you have to bend)

(10)FISH (there are other fish in the sea)

(11) STUMP (stand your ground)

(12) EYE OF THE NEEDLE (sometimes you need to mend a relationship sometimes give to salvation army, get rid of it)/


(13) SWAN (ugly duc(kling can become a swan



(15) DRAGON (courage and strength to try again/

(19) ½ GENIE/ GENIE (look for the magic



1)Settling - as normal
2)Sankalpa - as normal
3) Body rotation - as normal
4)Breath Awareness – Breath at the Heart – counting down from 18
5)Opposites –  Pain and Pleasure
6)Visualization Images – Red Rose, Green Grass, Candle Flame,  gray smoke, waterlilly, a six pointed star, a lotus with twelve deep red petals, a hearty laugh, Summer Day, a ripe plumb,  A Lover’s Smile
7)Sankalpa - as normal
8) Externalization - as normal

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment. It is much appreciated.